Finally someone who can put my thoughts to words!

Posted on 02/04/2012

0


Thank you Pioneer Woman who now by the way has her own TV show WHAT?!?! I thought she was JUST a blogging homeschool mom…

So I’ve settled comfortably into this life””this life of a relaxed homeschooler. Now, I do have specific, quality materials I use””a bit of an a la carte hodgepodge. But I’ve come a long way from the “thirty-minute goal” approach with which I began. Heck, I don’t even have daily goals anymore. Or weekly goals. Or monthly, even. My goals are yearly these days. I know what grade my kids are in, what materials they’ll need to attain a certain level of knowledge by the end of the year, and I jump in. Some days, I’m pleased with the amount of work we get done. Other days, we never look at a book because the kids are working cattle or I decide I can’t be bothered with Advanced Physics or Underwater Basketweaving on that particular day. Some days, my kids surprise me with their insight and intelligence. Other days, I’m sure they’ll be playing ukuleles on Venice Beach before they’re twenty.

And well they might. But I refuse to believe it will be because I chose to wipe my baby’s bottom with that color-coded schedule rather than let a piece of paper tell me when I had to make my bed.

via Why I Homeschool, and What My Approach Is | Pioneer Woman Homeschooling | Ree Drummond.

